First blog post! Huzzah!

I’m so excited to finally be doing this blog. It’s been on the ever growing “to-do” list but it kept getting pushed to the bottom. And then I discovered the wordpress app and thought it really can’t get any easier so I might as well jump in.

This is intended to be a sewing/crafting blog where I can share the things I make. Not to toot my own horn or anything but I’ve made a LOT of things over the years it would be nice to have everything nicely in one spot.

So without further ado, here’s the latest thing I’ve made; a dress for my Lily.

20140316-092000

1959489_616895450880_182358201_n

This is a sewing pattern made by the wonderful Oliver + s called the Book Report dress. I modified the sleeves a little by shortening them to a 3/4 sleeve (omitted the cuff and simply hemmed up the sleeve edge) and then pleated up the front.

20140316-095129

The dress is sewn in Robert Kaufman interweave chambray in color boysenberry. The lining is Liberty of London Strawberry thief and I also used it for the cover buttons.

1002648_616895470840_494443385_n

I just love the use of labels in handmade clothing! I hand stitched one with my daughter’s name on it and I love the finished look it gives! Plus it adds that little extra something special to a project to really make it pop.

I’ll try to post things I’ve made in the past soon too over the next few days…weeks…months 😉 They’ll be dated according to when I made them, so they will appear before this post.

P.S. I promise to try to dig out the nice camera and not just use crappy iphone pictures!

5 thoughts on “First blog post! Huzzah!

  1. I’m so glad you’ve started a sewing projects blog! I have loved seeing your kids’ clothes posts on FB, but it’s hard to share all the details there. So I am very excited to learn more from your blog posts. Such beautiful work and beautiful kids!

Leave a Reply

