Spring shorts

It’s almost spring and I’m beginning to get a little giddy. Winter in Montana is a bit.. shall we say.. intense. This winter in particular was colder and snowier then normal and was our first winter here since moving from Seattle. Heaps of snow and several occasions of -20 degrees below zero (that’s fahrenheit folks!) I really can’t wait for short weather, and so I couldn’t resist sewing my boy a pair.

IMG_9092

The pattern I used was the Sketchbook Shirt & Shorts by Oliver + s in size 18-24 months. Most of the kids sewing patterns I use are by them; they are so well written and easy to follow! The fabric is a medium weight organic canvas in color avocado from goodness know’s where as it has been living in my stash for an eternity. I don’t know about you but I get a serious thrill out of using up stash fabric! I love the casualness of these otherwise dressy shorts in this fabric and the lived in rumple of the canvas. I opted in with the optional button and went for a rustic wooden one.

IMG_9118

IMG_9123

Blurry action shot 🙂

IMG_9095

I lined the pockets and modified the waistband to accommodate my contrast fabric called Country Mice from the Nursery Versery collection by Heather Ross. I have a serious Heather Ross addiction. I love how the colors work perfectly together. As a finishing touch I added a little hand stitched label. I can’t get over how much a little label adds to the finished garment.

IMG_9104

IMG_9105

Mouse in your pocket? Yes please.

IMG_9108

One thought on “Spring shorts

Leave a Reply

