A winter coat

I would say that I finished this coat late except for the fact that it is snowing outside right now. *sigh*. As my husband said “Winter and spring are having a battle and right now winter is winning, but not for long”. He’s from Montana and perhaps it’s that mentality that keeps Montanans from going totally bonkers while waiting for spring to finally come, and stay, for keeps. Well at least my son will be able to wear this winter coat for a bit longer this season.

rowancoat

This is the Oliver + s School Day’s Jacket sewing pattern in size 2. It’s pretty huge on my son which is exactly what I wanted since I was sure it wouldn’t be done for this winter and it would need to fit next year. Well looks like the snow is sticking around and he can wear it for both!

IMG_9128

The coat is made from a lovely 100% melton wool in dark gray from http://www.nyfashioncenterfabrics.com  They really have the most fabulous wool! The lining is Meadow Friends from the Storyboek 2 collection of organic fabrics by Birch.

IMG_9132

I decided to do the removable quilted lining with sleeves because, let’s face it, it get’s COLD here. I quilted together Nani Iro pocho double gauze in color soda and Foxy Floral also from the Storyboek 2 collection. The binding is Moda Bella solids in Steel.

IMG_9125

I finished the shoulder seams in bias binding as well to give it a more finished look.

IMG_9124

And of course, the finishing touch, a little hand-stitched label for my Mr. Fox 🙂 I think this is one of my favorite projects yet!

IMG_9133

 

4 thoughts on “A winter coat

Leave a Reply

