April!

It’s April! This month always means happy things for me 🙂  Flowers, sunshine, spring, and birthdays just to name a few. In celebration of April I decided to make something flouncy, lightweight, and full of color for my daughter. Enter the Oliver + S Pinwheel dress.

IMG_9146

I made both the slip dress and tunic from this wonderful pattern in size 3 width and 4 length, and all I can say is both my daughter and I are absolutely thrilled with it!

IMG_9142

I’ve seen this dress before done in solids and I knew I wanted to follow suit. I think it just works perfectly! For the slip dress I used Kaffe shot cotton from pinkchalkfabrics.com in colors mushroom and spruce. The bias binding was pre-made by Moda Bella in color charcoal (couldn’t turn down a little time saver!)

IMG_9169

For the tunic I used Kaffe shot cotton in colors pool and moor. What I love about the moor color is that it looks purple but is actually red and the exact same pool color shot together. I used the same charcoal bias binding for the edges. This picture shows the tunic looking rather rumpled.. it’s been worn for the past 3 days in a row! Definitely a favorite around here.

IMG_9159

My favorite part of the whole ensemble is the tie for the keyhole back. I cut two strips of Kaffe Fasset Narrow stripe in colorway dusk from hawthornethreads.com, folded and finished the edges, and used it as my ribbon tie. The colors are perfect and make my brain happy 🙂

IMG_9180

Doesn’t it just look like a flower or butterfly dress when the two parts are worn together? Spring has sprung!

 

 

5 thoughts on “April!

Leave a Reply

