Kids Clothes Week day 4

IMG_9283

The theme for Kids Clothes Week is “Mini Me” and I must say it’s a pretty convenient theme to sew for since I tend to dress my kids in stuff I’d wear anyways, and this is no exception. The bones for this sewing pattern is Oliver + S Seashore Sundress in size 3 width 4 length, but I pretty heavily modified it. I just couldn’t get out of my head this stripe blocking, and I really wanted the seams to be on the diagonal in the front and back. The original pattern has straight seams so I had a bit of trial and error re-drafting the pattern pieces.

IMG_9271

But I managed to figure it out! *Edit* I have a tutorial up for the angled seams here!

The diagonal  front and back seams weren’t the only modifications. I also rounded out the front tabs on the straps, and scooped out the front neck about 3/8″. I felt with all the stripes I wanted softer round edges instead of the original pointed tabs and v neckline.

IMG_9284

The fabrics I used are the same I used on my son’s Sailboat pants from KCW day 3 since I wanted them to have matching outfits for the beach this month. The fabrics are Robert Kaufman railroad stripe in indigo and the lining is Playing Koi by Birch.

IMG_9301

IMG_9304

I’m so thrilled with how this one came together! I was a little worried about fit with all the re-drafting I did but it really fits my girl perfectly.

IMG_9289

I’ll try to get a few pictures of my son and daughter together in their matching outfits soon. I actually did get a few but my son is crying in all of them! Such is life 😉

 

9 thoughts on “Kids Clothes Week day 4

  1. Hi, I love how your modified seashore sundress turned out. A tutorial on the modifications would be great because I would like to try this. Thank you, Karen

  2. ack! love this! I never was too crazy about that particular O & S pattern but your version has me rethinking it! love your choice of fabric too:)

    • I’m so glad you like it! I just love it when someone makes a version of a pattern that inspires me to love it! I just saw the most fabulous nature walk top the other day which I had never been crazy about before.

Leave a Reply

