Easter pants and a birthday dress

IMG_9812

Easter and my daughter’s birthday tend to line up pretty nicely in terms of my sewing schedule as they are usually about a week apart. So instead of two separate dresses I sew her one special Birthday Easter dress to be worn on both occasions. I just love how this years dress came together!

IMG_9829

The sewing pattern I used is called “Adria full circle dress pattern” by AmelieClothing on Etsy. I knew I wanted a dress with amazing spin factor and since I had no patterns on hand that fit the bill I just browsed on Etsy until I saw this one, which fit my vision perfectly!

IMG_9831

I sewed the dress in size 3 width and 4 length in Nani Iro Fuwari Fuwari double gauze with the lining in Kaffe Shot cotton color pudding. I did modify the pattern some by lengthening the bodice by 1 inch so that the waist hit more at her natural waist. I also added a single layer of tulle between the lining and the skirt top to prevent the layers from sticking together and falling flat.

IMG_9816

I love the sweet v-back and the shoulder ties!

IMG_9828

Plus the spin-factor is a 10!

IMG_9835

Easter for my boy means new Sunday clothes and so I decided to make him a pair of dress pants from the Museum Trousers pattern by Oliver + S. I sewed them in size 18-24 month in the fabulous Herringbone Railroad Denim Deluxe in color Indigo by Robert Kaufman. This fabric is seriously dreamy; soft, supple, sturdy, and gorgeous! Please ignore my wonky leg length in this photo! They really are the same length but are hanging weird.

IMG_9836

Adorable welt pockets! I was a bit intimidated to try them but Oliver + S patterns make them so approachable. Give them a try!

IMG_9837

For my contrast fabric I used some Heather Ross’ Nursery Versery collection called This little piggy.

IMG_9810

Welt pockets in action 🙂

Happy Easter!

5 thoughts on “Easter pants and a birthday dress

  1. […] Of course I had to sew her a birthday dress and what birthday is complete without Nani Iro? I made her this gorgeous little number which you can read more about in my previous blog post here. […]

Leave a Reply

