Kimono Shoes

Well I’ve done it! For the first time in 20+ years I sewed something practical for myself. Yup, 20 years. The last time I was about 8 and I hated it so much I swore never again. But this week is selfish sewing week so I’m breaking the curse with these much needed house shoes.

IMG_9855

The sewing pattern is ThinkSew Kimono Shoes. This pattern was easy to follow, quick to sew, and I would definitely recommend it to anyone who needed some house shoes. However I did find this pattern to run wide, either that or I’ve got some skinny feet, so I took them in quite a bit on the sides.

For the fabric I used Kaffe Fasset Narrow Stripe in dusk for the outer and Kaffe shot cotton in pool for the lining. My husband said they look like TOMS. That makes me happy 🙂

IMG_9856

For the bottoms I opted to use something more sturdy then cotton so I bought some 5oz suede off of Ebay. I was a little worried to be sewing this on my machine, but all I needed was my leather needle and it sewed up just fine. Now I can walk around the kitchen in these bad boys and not worry about stepping in little spots of water that inevitably get on the floor.

IMG_9857

The inside soles are removable and I thought it would be nice to add some padding into them, so I put two layers of quilting batting into each. The batting keeps my feet much warmer plus it’s nice and soft to walk on.

IMG_9860

Action shot! Please don’t mind my oddly sunburned legs 😉

One thought on “Kimono Shoes

Leave a Reply

