Itsy bitsy spider sailboat top

20140507-IMG_9862

It’s the start of the rain and thunderstorms here in Montana, and something about a sailboat top with Itsy bitsy spider detail seemed so appropriate 😉 And what a sweet little shirt this turned out to be! I’ve had the Oliver + S Sailboat pattern living in my stash for quite some time but never got to making it for my daughter before she grew too big for it. So I really wanted to make it for my boy and I’m so pleased with how it turned out!

20140507-IMG_9863

I sewed size 18-24 months in Robert Kaufman’s Railroad deluxe shirting stripes in color denim-blue with the yolk lining in Heather Ross’ Itsy bitsy spider. The fit is a bit smaller then I anticipated, probably due to this pattern being sized for knits too. It fit’s him perfectly now and I think he may grow out of it very soon! So sad, I just love this top on him.

20140507-IMG_9868

Hello little spider. You are adorable. You may remember these fabrics from KCW day 2 where I gave you a sneak peak at this project in the works. Yup, this project has been sitting on my sewing table unloved for a few weeks! So glad to have finally finished it.

20140507-IMG_9866

Detail shot. I found these robot eye wooden buttons on Etsy from the shop shop4craft and they are a prefect finishing touch.

20140507-IMG_9871

My model was very uncooperative so please excuse my blurry pictures. It would have been great to take him outside in the grass and sunshine, but it’s snowing out right now. Yes, snowing! So blurry indoor shots it is.

20140507-IMG_9884

Back shot. I love the curved shirt bottom! It’s great little details like that which set Oliver + S patterns apart.

20140507-IMG_9867

I’m a huge fan of this top! I need to try this in a knit next.

One thought on “Itsy bitsy spider sailboat top

Leave a Reply

