Cricket Ice Cream tunic

20140519-IMG_9944

Have I mentioned I love Oliver + s patterns? No? 😉 This is the Ice Cream dress sewing pattern by of course Oliver + s sewn in Heather Ross’ Cricket from her Briar Rose collection. It’s sewn in size 4 length and 3 width.

20140518-IMG_9899

I modified the pattern a bit by making it into a tunic using the dress view A pattern pieces but leaving off the bottom band and instead lengthening the top piece by an inch and a half.

20140518-IMG_9894

This fabric and pattern are just perfect together! I wish I could take credit for pairing them first, but no, I’ve seen other ice cream shirts/dresses in this print. This may be the first tunic though!

20140518-IMG_9905

Glamour shot. I love the notches at the neckline and pockets. I wasn’t sure at first if I would like them but I really do especially with the allover print I used! They add a little something special plus some visual interest that doesn’t get overwhelmed by the print.

20140518-IMG_9912

Look mom! A squirrel!

20140519-IMG_9948

If you’ve not tried out any Heather Ross fabrics in your sewing, please do! Just look at that adorable cricket.

20140518-IMG_9908

 

This tunic was an instant favorite plus it’s perfect for the warm spring days (yes it’s finally warm!) of Montana. So glad I sewed this one up!

2 thoughts on “Cricket Ice Cream tunic

  1. love it in this length! And that fabric looks adorable sewn up with this pattern – I hope your daughter loves it!

Leave a Reply

