Sunny Day copycat shorts

20140529-IMG_9981gapshortsfront

On the right are some awesome chambray BabyGap shorts I’ve been drooling over for a month. On the left are my copycat version. Pretty good right? I wasn’t aiming for an exact copy, just something close using what I had on hand. I absolutely love how they turned out!

20140529-IMG_9982gapshortsback

The fabric I used was Robert Kaufman interweave chambray with cream linen for the front pocket linings. I love the weight of the chambray for this project; definitely more of a medium weight and very sturdy which is perfect for little boy shorts!

20140529-IMG_9987

I used the Oliver + S Sunny Day shorts pattern in size 18-24 months as the base. I then modified them by adding front pockets, belt loops, a faux fly, faux draw string, a cargo pocket on the back, flat felled seams, a button, and lots of topstitching. Whew, that’s a lot of modifications! But I think it came out amazing and looks very similar to the inspiration shorts.

20140529-IMG_9983

Cargo pocket and belt loop detail.

20140529-IMG_9985

Here’s a peak at the cream pocket lining plus the topstitching detail.

20140529-IMG_9999

I left the length slightly longer and I’m so glad I did. The length is perfect on him!

20140529-IMG_9990

Action shot!

20140529-IMG_9989

20140529-IMG_0001

I’m kind of in love with the whole copycat idea now. I think some “jcrew” shorts for my girl will be coming up soon!

11 thoughts on “Sunny Day copycat shorts

  1. These are so great! Love the modifications you made to make them more like your inspiration photo. And i”m a sucker for anything chambray, so love them even more:)

  2. These look amazing and so close to your inspiration! I think I even like your version better than the original with your more streamlined back pocket. And they look wonderful on your darling boy…he is just sooo adorable. I agree with both of you…chambray looks superb!

    • Thank you so much Audrey! Yeah the pocket on the inspiration shorts was a bit much for my taste too ;).
      I’m so loving chambray on little boys right now and I have several more projects I want to sew. Do you have anything in the works?

      • I do have a couple projects planned specifically for some chambray. I think we must definitely be on the same wavelength! I finally cut out some shorts for my boy and I’d like to make him another Sketchbook shirt with a band collar soon, both in chambray of course! There are so many things I’d love to make…I feel like my list is about as tall as I am!

      • I agree, we really are on the same wavelength! I can’t wait to see your next few projects. And I hear ya on the huge sewing list, mine is an absolute monster. I feel like I mark one thing off and add three things on. But I love it so much that I wouldn’t have it any other way!

  3. These are great, I was super impressed when I saw them on Liesl’s post! Those are some great great details! I am especially impressed with the drawstring – probably because I always find making drawstrings to be a pain and skip them even when they are included in a pattern! Ha! These look just fantastic.

    • Thank you so much! I felt like I was going a bit crazy with all the modifications but I just had to make some shorts like the babygap ones! They had a surprising amount of detail but I thought “what the heck” and just went for it! That’s funny about the drawstring. We all have little sewing things we hate don’t we? This one is faux since I felt like being a cheater cheater pumpkin eater.

Leave a Reply

