Red, white, and blue

20140706-IMG_0201

In celebration of the 4th I decided to make some red, white, and blue things for the kids. America really picked some great colors, I just love them together!

20140706-IMG_0202

For my daughter I made a pair of Prefontaine shorts by Made with Moxie. I made them in size four in Robert Kaufman Rustica cotton/linen chambray in color indigo with self-made bias tape from my Liberty of London stash. This chambray is almost fuzzy soft, very supple, and lightweight but not too thin for shorts. It’s very lovely like all of the Kaufman chambray’s I’ve used!

20140706-IMG_0209

She has a way of looking super thrilled doesn’t she? Yes, the shorts are WAY too big. I think she’ll be able to wear these when she’s ten! If only I had checked the measurement chart for the pattern first, but no, I was lazy :/

20140706-IMG_0214

Regardless of how huge they are, they still are stinking cute!

20140707-IMG_0241

And now she can finally rock this pose without showing us her undies.

20140707-IMG_0228

Looking cool in her shorts!

20140706-IMG_0193

For my boy I made him a modified Sketchbook shirt by Oliver + S. I sewed it in size 18-24 months from Robert Kaufman Union dot chambray. Have I mentioned I love Kaufman chambray? 😉 Instead of plastic buttons this time I sprung for mother of pearl ones, which I sewed on with red embroidery floss. I love using real materials to create heirloom quality items. I’ll be doing much more of that where I can!

20140706-IMG_0198

You may recognize this fabric from a set of matching skirts I made for my daughter, myself, and my daughter’s doll. My son got a bow-tie from it too but I felt he needed something more from this amazing fabric! And as luck would have it I had just enough left to eek this shirt out.

20140706-IMG_0195

I sewed view A sleeves with view B collar. I modified the sleeves by adding tabs to button them once rolled up. I also added an additional pocket to the front and added flap closures with buttons. If you look closely you’ll notice the shirt front has a yoke. This was due to not really having enough fabric but determination to make it work 😉

20140707-IMG_0255

I love this shirt on him! It’s quite lightweight which will be great for our hot summers here!

20140707-IMG_0260

Must get flower pot in order to…

20140707-IMG_0268

…dump dirt on self 😀

20140707-IMG_0271

I just love how these red white and blue projects turned out!

Did you sew anything in honor of the 4th?

 

 

8 thoughts on “Red, white, and blue

  1. Very cute garments and adorable children! We must definitely be on the same wavelength! I was about to cut out a Sketchbook shirt this evening with almost exactly the same modifications…view A sleeves with view B collar…and of course in chambray!

    • Thank you Marisa! I have to admit I wasn’t totally sure about that red thread while I was sewing it and I’m so glad it works! I wasn’t looking forward to resewing 12 buttons!

  2. I am just falling over myself in love with that shirt. Everything about it – the pockets, the buttons, the thread, the extra front yoke seam, the little sleeve tabs. It just kills me!! And yes, it’s even better with dirt all over it, good idea, kid! 🙂

    Good to know about the Prefontaines. I was considering whipping some up for my SUPER SKINNY niece and I probably wouldn’t have checked the measurements. Perhaps I’ll go down a size in width.

    • Thank you so much Inder! My boy thinks everything is better with some dirt 😉 Yeah those prefontaine shorts are ginormous! I almost wonder if my printing scale was off… I hope you have better luck!

  3. The shorts! The shirt! I’m in love with both! I’ve been eyeing the Prefontaine shorts pattern, and yours is the cutest version I’ve seen yet! The fabric choice is spot-on, and I’m sure feels so lovely to wear. What a little treat to have Liberty bias trim:)
    And the shirt is just stunning – love the little detail of how you sewed on the buttons. Your son looks so handsome in it:)

Leave a Reply

