A baby shower gift

20140716-IMG_0353

Baby showers make me a bit giddy. Itty bitty cuteness just waiting to be sewn and put on tiny sweet newborn babies. ❤ So of course I jumped at the chance to make something sweet and girly for my friend’s upcoming baby. The sewing patterns I used were Oliver + S playtime leggings, and the dress is a Made By Rae pattern called the Itty Bitty Baby dress. For the leggings I scaled them down a size to make them 0-6 months and I sewed them out of Heather Ross’ Briar Rose strawberry knit. I’m a huge fan of Heather Ross! Her fabrics are to die for.

20140716-IMG_0354

For the dress I scaled the dress pattern up a size to make it 3-6 months, omitted the waist piping and hem bias tape, and hand stitched the hem plus the bodice lining at the waist for a neat finish. I sewed it from Robert Kaufman union chambray in indigo, which is seriously a wonderful chambray. It’s one of my favorites, and I must sew all the things from it!

20140716-IMG_0355

For some extra special detail I embroidered the collar with several different stitches using this tutorial from purlbee as a guide. The finished look is seriously lovely! I need to make one of these to keep!

20140716-IMG_0359

The back got one row of embroidery as well.

20140716-IMG_0357

Strawberry legs! Congrats to my friend 🙂 Can’t wait to meet your little bundle of joy.

 

6 thoughts on “A baby shower gift

Leave a Reply

