Baggies knock-it-off

baggies knockoff

This month I’m participating in the Knock-it-off sewing series hosted by Heidi at Elegance & Elephants. From August 1-20 we will be sewing copy-cat versions of retail styles. There’s a flickr group here where you can see what’s been sewn, and post things you’ve knocked off as well! For this knock off I sewed a pair of shorts termed “baggies” by Mini Boden followers.

20140807-IMG_0679

The pattern I used for these was the “Coastal Craze Baggies” by Peek-a-boo pattern shop. I sewed them in size 2 from some luxurious gray stripe bamboo blend knit and a solid mint knit both from Girl Charlee. For the waistband I used gray rib knit from Joann’s. The bamboo blend is fabulous; very soft and not too lightweight. I need to make more things from this fabric!

20140807-IMG_0680

This sewing pattern required only a little modification to make it a perfect knock-off of the baggies. The things I changed were to edge-stitch around the bottom of the waistband with a twin needle, plus to use a serger-like top stitch on the faux fly stitching as well as the back pocket stitching. I was happy to keep these as shorts but if you wanted them the same length as the baggie pant, you should add a few inches to the leg length.

20140807-IMG_0681

Also, next time I make these I’ll change how the back pocket is constructed so the top edge-stitching (in mint thread) is hidden. I prefer a cleaner finish for the pocket plus the originals do not have this extra seam.

20140807-IMG_0708

Oh hai! The shot of the rear is my favorite. That mint pocket just kills me!

20140807-IMG_0713

The front is pretty stinking adorable as well!

20140807-IMG_0710

20140807-IMG_0715

I adore these knock-off baggies. I can see why they are so popular! I think these will be an annual summer sewing staple around here 😉

Have you seen the awesome knock-offs being created? Come knock-it-off with me!

knockitoffsmallgraphic_zps2a74815f

10 thoughts on “Baggies knock-it-off

  1. This is exactly the style of shorts that my son currently favors. But I actually tried to make him a pair and he refused to wear them!! GAH! But yes, I completely agree – easy, cute, comfy, totally a summer staple.

Leave a Reply

