Stripy sailboat top

20140829-IMG_1051

Fall sewing is underway! Hurray! Up first is a stripy sailboat top for my boy.

20140829-IMG_1053

This is the second sailboat top I’ve made him, the first was in a woven, but I had really wanted to give this pattern a whirl in a knit as well, and having quite a bit of this fabric left over from these pants presented the perfect opportunity ;). The pattern is Oliver + s sailboat top in size 2 sewn from a bamboo stripe knit and a solid mint knit both from girlcharlee.

20140829-IMG_1055

Hello fall! Hello orange buttons! As always the Oliver + s pattern was easy to follow and a wonderful, fast sew. If you’re unsure where to start with sewing for kids, try Oliver + s!

20140829-IMG_1056

I cut out and decorative stitched on some elbow patches from the mint knit. I think there will be a lot more of elbow patches to come this fall/winter for my kids. I just can’t get enough of them!!20140830-IMG_1094

And now for some action shots.

20140830-IMG_1088

20140830-IMG_1097

20140830-IMG_1099

Fall sewing is some of my favorite sewing to do, and I think what I’ve got planned to do this season will be lots of fun!

What season is your favorite to sew for?

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Stripy sailboat top

    • Thanks Nicole! I wish it were always true that each project came out as envisioned 😉 And thanks! My labels are left over from my previous sewing business and have decided to use them up on my kids!

Leave a Reply

