Project Run & Play – 80’s cartoon inspiration

Have you heard of Project run & play? It’s a seriously fun sewing challenge inspired by the popular show Project Runway, but it’s for moms and their kids! I’m not sure how I only just discovered them since they are in their 10th season! Oh well, better late than never 😉 The challenge has several chosen participants who battle it out over several weeks until there is only one victorious, but anyone can sew along, and that’s what I’m doing this season. I’d love to be one of the participants someday! (Edit: The Berenstain Bears is also a book! And so I’m also including it in the Sew Many Books sewing challenge)

Picadilo Collage

This week’s challenge was to sew an 80’s cartoon inspired outfit. That theme is awesome, and there’s a ton of great cartoons to choose from that seriously take me back to my childhood. I decided to settle on The Berenstain Bear’s sister bear. She has some pretty awesome elements to her outfit that I used as inspiration, namely a pink and white polka dot shirt, and pink ruffled shoulders on a pinafore. I know sister bear wears overalls but I decided to sew a pinafore instead. In hindsight I wish I done overalls but hey, you live and you learn.

20140916-IMG_9279

For the top I sewed it from this Japanese sewing book in size 110 from the beautiful Nani Iro Pocho double gauze. The polka dots are metallic coral pink which is extremely awesome according to my daughter 😉 Also, that shirt was my first ever project from a non-translated Japanese sewing book!

20140916-IMG_9288

The pinafore is from this Japanese sewing book which has been translated into English and is a great place to start if you want to get into Japanese kids sewing. I sewed it in size 110 from Kaufman newcastle denim, Kaffe Fassett shot cotton in color mushroom, and I added a pocket on the front from some brushed cotton Nani Iro scraps I had left over from this dress.

20140916-IMG_9259

I seriously love the details of Japanese patterns. The peter pan collar, the shoulder ruffles, the puffed sleeves! All just perfection.

20140916-IMG_9296

Here’s a better shot of the polka dot print. Those metallic dots are hard to capture!

20140916-IMG_9297

For the buttons I used mother-of-pearl buttons I found on Ebay.

20140916-IMG_9294

Size tag!

20140916-IMG_9293

Pocket detail.

20140916-IMG_9240

And now for a few modeling shots!

20140916-IMG_9258

20140916-IMG_9275

80’s cartoon inspired success! On to sewing for next week’s challenge 😉

Have you seen the great outfits sewn by the competing participants for week one? Check them out here!

15 thoughts on “Project Run & Play – 80’s cartoon inspiration

  1. Oh wow. I love your inspiration (we must be about the same age, because, hello walk down memory lane!), but I love your completed outfit even more. That little pinafore is just darling, especially over this perfect little blouse. I need to start using the Japanese pattern books I have!

    • Thanks Inder! After getting over the initial “what the heck am I doing” feeling with Japanese pattern books, they really are fantastic! Simple, elegant, and not to mention completely adorable. 😉

  2. we love the berenstien bears!!! I did when I was a kid too!! This was such a fun challenge, and I love your outfit, so sweet. I’m currently hosting a sewing series called Sew Many Books. there is a sew a long {with prizes!} If you have sewed anything inspired by a book in 2014 I’d love to have you join! Hop over to Nap-Time Creations and check out the series! Emily

  3. The Bearenstain Bears is a favorite around here too! I adore the metallic dots on that double gauze. It’s perfect for the top. I have the happy homemade translated version from the local library and basically want to sew everything in it! 🙂

  4. So perfect. I just got one of those books from our library. Where did you find such great size labels? I need to do that since I have two girls. One will get the hand-me-downs.

Leave a Reply

