PR&P week 3 – Denim challange

20141002-IMG_9470

It’s week three of Project run & play! This week the challenge is to sew an outfit out of denim. I really loved this theme; it helped to fill in my boy’s wardrobe ;). I decided to sew him an indigo blue chambray shirt, burnt orange denim pants, plus a quilted denim and chambray puffer vest with detachable hood.

20141002-IMG_9473

For the shirt I used the Sketchbook shirt pattern by Oliver + s sewn in size 2 from Robert Kaufman union stretch shirting in indigo. I added a front flap to the shirt pocket as well as a small leather tag on the pocket for some extra detail, and decreased the size of the collar for a slim look.

20141002-IMG_9476

Detail shot! I really love including little bits of leather on my boys clothes. It adds such a great finishing touch!

20141002-IMG_9479

The pants were sewn from the small fry skinny jeans free pattern provided online here. The free pattern only comes in size two and with patch pockets rather then traditional jeans pockets. I altered the pattern to have the traditional pockets with penny pocket. I sewed them from a gorgeous burnt orange denim with Indian Summer menagerie as my lining. The size two is quite roomy and my boy will be able to wear these for quite some time!

20141002-IMG_9478

I also added some quilted knee patches because I love to quilt all the things. 😉

20141002-IMG_9480

The back pocket also got a little leather tag.

20141002-IMG_9475

To complete the look I made him a denim quilted puffer vest with detachable hood.

20141002-IMG_9481

The pattern is the Great outdoors reversible vest by Peek-a-boo pattern shop sewn in size 2 from Kaufman Newcastle denim and lining in Indian Summer menagerie. The hood I color-blocked with Andover chambray in color gray. For the batting I used reclaimed wool which I found on Etsy. Wool is seriously warm and cozy; perfect for the cold weather here in Montana!

20141002-IMG_9548

The completed look!

20141002-IMG_9496

Love the color-blocked hood.

20141002-IMG_9532

So happy with his quilted knee patches!

20141002-IMG_9521

Vest close up with leather tag embellishment.

20141002-IMG_9522

Denim challenge completed!

Have you seen the looks created by the competitors? Check them out here.

Onward to week 4! See you then!

20 thoughts on “PR&P week 3 – Denim challange

  1. Wow! What a great outfit! I have followed your blog for a while and have been consistently impressed with your fabric selections and style. But I think this is my favorite…esp the quilted knee patches.

Leave a Reply

