Some selfish sewing

20141013-IMG_9693

I don’t often sew for myself but of course the urge should hit during KCW, exactly when I should be sewing for my kids not myself! Oh well, I’ll just roll with it and hope to get something completed for them before the week is out 😉

20141022-IMG_9700

Remember that sweatshirt I sewed for my daughter during PR&P signature style week? Well, I loved it so much I made one for myself too!

20141013-IMG_9695

The pattern is from a modified Oliver + s metro t-shirt sewn in the gorgeous Liberty of London sweatshirt cotton fleece. I made the body and sleeves wider and added cream ribbing to the bottom cuffs and waist.

20141022-IMG_9701

Have I mentioned how seriously dreamy this fleece is? This sweatshirt pretty much my favorite item of clothing ever!

20141013-IMG_9686

Since I was in the swing for sewing for myself, I also made another modified Metro t-shirt from this pretty Joann’s floral jersey. For the modifications I scooped out the neck some and finished the bottom sleeve edges differently, like you would if you were sewing a ribbing cuff.

20141022-IMG_9698

The scooped out neck! I had to lengthen the neck binding piece quite a bit to make up for making the neck opening larger. I also nipped in the waist a bit for a sleeker silhouette.

20141013-IMG_9683

Shirt back.

20140810-IMG_0716

And while I’m blogging about things I’ve sewn for myself, here’s a pair of shorts I made a few months ago that somehow fell between the blogging cracks.

20140810-IMG_0719

The pattern is the City gym shorts from purlbee. They offer both children’s and women’s sizes and the best part is that they’re free!

20140810-IMG_0721

For my shorts I used my very favorite Liberty from my stash plus some Kaufman linen blend chambray also from my stash and Kaufman interweave chambray as the bias binding. I love these shorts and pretty much lived in them this past summer!

I’m not sure why I find it so hard to do a post on things I’ve sewn for myself. Goodness knows I put if off long enough! Anyone else have that problem?

On to KCW!

11 thoughts on “Some selfish sewing

  1. Love both of your tops (the Liberty one is gorgeous!) – great mods.
    And your shorts are very cute 🙂
    Agree re selfish sewing blogging too – particularly the need for modeled pics

Leave a Reply

