Sequins & Ikat

20150123-IMG_0147

Project Run & Play is doing things a little differently this year; instead of one crazy jam-packed month they’re doing a once a month sew-along project, and I really do love the new relaxed pace! This month Alida from Alida Makes has chosen her bubble dress tutorial for us to sew along with, and I couldn’t resist using up some stash fabric to make my girl a little something special.

20150123-IMG_0150

The skirt is a bubble skirt sewn using Alida’s tutorial (which I did modify to fit my girl as a skirt) from gold sequins fabric I had picked up from Hobby Lobby this past fall.

20150123-IMG_0151

I knew I wanted a top to go with the skirt so I made a sleeveless version of Oliver + s sketchbook shirt sewn from some slinky woven ikat fabric also from Hobby Lobby. I’m wild about this crazy fabric. My daughter said it’s like a sunset and I agree! But what it really reminds me of the aurora borealis which I got to see this past November while in Iceland.

20150123-IMG_0153

I sewed the shirt in size 4 width 5 length. For modifications I left the sleeves off and cut some 1.5″ strips of bias tape to finish the armholes with. This is a peek at the inside of the finished armhole. I also took the sides in a bit to make it slightly slimmer fitting.

20150123-IMG_0115

The finished outfit! Girl’s ready for a party!

20150123-IMG_0126

20150123-IMG_0134

20150123-IMG_0127

Month one of PR&P done! I’m looking forward to next month’s challenge.

Will you be sewing along with Project Run & Play? I’m looking forward to seeing everyone’s creations!

12 thoughts on “Sequins & Ikat

Leave a Reply

