KCW – Heart appliqué red wool dress

20150203-IMG_0313

Kid’s Clothes Week is in full swing and to kick it off I made a much needed warm winter dress for my daughter. The pattern I used was the Oliver + s school bus t-shirt size 4 which I modified to have a gathered skirt and a neckline finished with facing rather than a neckband.

20150203-IMG_0315

For the fabric I used some bright red wool interlock from here, and on the elbows I stitched on some dark gray cotton knit hearts, perfect for Valentines Day!

20150203-IMG_0308

To create the skirt first I trimmed the shirt front and back to the desired bodice length plus bottom seam allowance (I used a 1/4″ seam allowance). This seam should be where you want the skirt and bodice to join each other to create the waist of the dress. Next measure from this waist seam down to where you want the skirt to end plus seam allowances on both the top of skirt and bottom for the hem (I used 1/4″ for the top seam and made my hem 1″. Total length for my daughter was 16″). Lastly, I took my daughter’s waist measurement and multiplied by 3 (for my daughter 21″ x3 = 63″.) This was to be the total circumference of the skirt. I cut out my skirt in two pieces which were 31.75″ wide x 16″ long. (31.75″ + 31.75″ = 63″ skirt circumference including 1/4″ seam allowances). Sew your two sides together, gather the top, and pin to the bodice right sides together evenly distributing the gathers. Sew this seam together with a 1/4″ seam, hem up the bottom as stated in the pattern, and voila, a dress!

20150203-IMG_0291

I love the brilliant red of this dress.

20150203-IMG_0298

And who doesn’t love heart elbow patches?

20150203-IMG_0324

Now for some action shots!

20150203-IMG_0331

20150203-IMG_0348

What a great start to KCW! Anyone else sewing like mad this week?

4 thoughts on “KCW – Heart appliqué red wool dress

  1. Oh it’s lovely. Looks great with that ingenious little scarf and those boots! I’m sewing, but it’s a Fairy Tale dress for a birthday surprise, so I’ll have nothing to share. 😦 Still I love seeing everyone else’s sewing!

  2. Oh my goodness, that is ADORABLE. Love it! Alas, I am not doing KCW this time around, in fact I’ve barely sewn anything in weeks because I’m back on a house kick and painting my kitchen. BLARGH. But it will be so nice when it’s done!

Leave a Reply

