Valentine’s nightgown

20150223-IMG_0547

Valentine’s Day was going to slip by this year without sewing a project for it, but then I remembered there were two yards of this lovely valentine cotton flannel fabric sitting in my stash and were asking to be used up. My daughter had been particularly hankering for a new nightgown as her one and only (which I had sewn for her two years ago) was now almost above her knees! Plus it occurred to me that it would be fun to make a matching outfit for her doll. And so it came to be that Valentine’s Day did NOT get to sneak by without a project in its honor 😉

20150223-IMG_0557

The sewing pattern is a modified Ruffled Empire Peasant top/dress from the “Little girls, big style” sewing book by Mary Abreu. The doll pjs pattern was self drafted in the same style for a 13″ doll. Both were sewn from this really lovely flannel fabric from Joann’s which looks like it’s been covered in cross-stitch embroidery. When I first saw it I was reminded strongly of Anna Maria Horner and decided to pick up a few yards.

20150223-IMG_0581

Lily and Pearl in their matching nightgowns! My daughter was simply thrilled to have her first matching outfit with her doll.

20150223-IMG_0570

20150223-IMG_0575

20150223-IMG_0560

The colors look great on Pearl too!

20150223-IMG_0585

I did try for some outdoor shots since the light was fantastic, but it was 25 degrees out. COLD!!!

20150223-IMG_0586

I told her to smile and we could go inside. This is what I got. Oh well… 😉

Do you like to sew projects to commemorate the different holidays?

One thought on “Valentine’s nightgown

Leave a Reply

