An Easter suit and dress

There’s something so wonderful about this time of year; flowers, new life, warmer weather, and new Easter clothes! I have a bit of a tradition going now to sew my daughter a lovely new dress for the double occasions of Easter and her birthday (as her birthday also falls in April). Last year my son got new pants and bow tie but I decided he needed to really be included in the tradition this year and so he got a full ensemble as well!

For this year’s dress my inspiration was an old childhood Easter dress of mine.

olddress

Please excuse my blurry iPhone picture. I had no other “before’ pictures of this dress before I hacked it up 😉 Check out this early 90’s awesomeness! I loved this dress so much as a kid!

20150406-IMG_0831

Up-cycled! The pattern I used was the Gardenia dress pattern by Cali Faye Collection sewn in size 4 width with 5 length. The fabric which I up-cycled from my old Easter dress is a sheer cotton gauze which I lined with the original white cotton lining. For the yolk and sleeves I used off-white organza from Jo-Ann’s.

20150406-IMG_0834

I modified the pattern a bit by adding a back bodice overlay so that the entire back wasn’t organza.

20150406-IMG_0843

I also used the original dress petticoat to make the skirt extra full and flouncy.

20150406-IMG_0841

The piping was also up cycled straight from the old dress. Love the little time savers 😉

20150406-IMG_0836

For my son I pulled out all the stops and made him an entire new suit set consisting of shirt, blazer, shorts, and bow-tie.

20150406-IMG_0844

The shirt (yes it’s been worn. Wrinkles!) was sewn from Oliver + s sketchbook shirt in size 2 width 3 length from blue cotton with contrast white cotton collar and cuffs. I chose tortoise shell colored buttons to complement the beige and browns which made up the rest of the suit set. I also flat-felled the seams for a professional look.

20150406-IMG_0847

The blazer was sewn from the “Little Gentleman” pattern by Peek-a-boo pattern shop in size 2. The fabric I used was a beige 100% linen suiting from Jo-Ann’s, plus leather scrap for the elbow patches and real leather buttons.

20150406-IMG_0848

For modifications I used the Oliver + s welt pocket instruction from the Museam vest & trousers pattern rather than those provided by Peek-a-boo patterns. You really can’t beat the clarity and professionalism imparted by Oliver + s and these welt pockets show that for sure!

20150406-IMG_0850

I also added additional decorative buttons on the sleeves.

20150406-IMG_0849

The lining is a super soft cotton called Menagerie in color timberwolf. I adore this fabric and have had it in my stash for a while waiting for a perfect use for it!

20150406-IMG_0855

The shorts were sewn from Oliver + s Museum trousers pattern in size 2 using the same fabrics as the blazer.

20150406-IMG_0852

Welt pockets!

20150406-IMG_0854

I modified the trousers into shorts plus flat felled the seams for a neat finish.

20150406-IMG_0842

Lastly, he got a bow-tie which was also up cycled from my old Easter dress. I followed the prudent baby double bow-tie tutorial which produces an amazing bow-tie!

And now for a modeling photo-bomb…

20150405-IMG_0744

My daughter had to wear a previously sewn white slip to prevent her dress from being too scandalous 😉

20150405-IMG_0763

Back.

20150405-IMG_0770

Pockets.

20150405-IMG_0773

Love the finished look! So glad his outfit came together as I envisioned it in my head.

20150405-IMG_0746

Handsome dude 😉

20150405-IMG_0753

Easter success! That was a lot of sewing and I’ll admit, I’m glad to get to move on to something new… perhaps baby layette? 🙂

How was your Easter?

8 thoughts on “An Easter suit and dress

  1. Oh wow! His little outfit is gorgeous. The jacket looks fantastic and I love the white collar and cuffs on the blue shirt. Your dress upcycle worked very well. The before photo was hilariously last century! Fabulous sewing and the kids look beautiful

  2. I didn’t know you had a blog! But I saw that dress on your Flickr and I had to click over – it is just gorgeous. My girls would die to have a dress like that. The suit is also adorable.

  3. Oh my freaking goodness, that SUIT! I die! It’s perfect!! I mean, over the top fantastic. I really love the dress too, and I love that you recycled your old dress! I think I had a dress much like that in the 90s, I thought I was sooooo hip! LOL.

  4. Thank you so much Inder! His suit is kinda my favorite thing at the moment ;). And what were we thinking in the 90s? I cringe looking at old pictures of myself with my fantasic wardrobe choices…

  5. oh my goodness – so much Easter goodness! I can’t get over that fabulous dress upcycle! Takes great vision to make that work:) And those welt pockets on the jacket and shorts – so very impressive. What a fantastic ensemble!

Leave a Reply

