June bug layette

20150508-IMG_1124

Can you believe it’s May already? I sure can’t! Time is really just flying by and I still have so much left I want to get sewn for my June boy. Thankfully I managed to knock out a bunch of clothing for him these past couple weeks.

20150508-IMG_1130

First up is a set of seven wrap shirts in size 0-3 months sewn from several different knits using a self drafted pattern. The fabrics are Birch solids in mineral, midblue and teal, Birch bugs print in gold and mint, plus a dark taupe organic knit and a mint knit from my stash. I used an organic cream knit as the binding for all of the tees.

20150508-IMG_1134

Here’s a look at how the shirt wraps on. The closures are size 15 metal snaps from Snapsource. I love tiny metal snaps! They add such a professional look to the finished garment. The tabs are .5″ cream twill tape from Jo-Ann’s .

20150508-IMG_1128

Next up are three sleep-gowns plus three adorable knot hats.

20150508-IMG_1141

The gowns were sewn using this free and totally awesome newborn gown pattern. For the fabrics I used Birch knits elk grove in color shroom, and feathers in colors coral and mineral. For the binding I used the same cream organic knit as the wrap tees.

20150508-IMG_1143

Elastic bottoms for easy diaper changes!

20150508-IMG_1140

The knot hats were sewn using this free pattern here. I love this hat pattern! It’s so insanely quick, easy, and satisfying to sew up! For the fabrics I went with the three that would provide the most matching between all the pieces I made, so I chose to use Birch bugs in gold, feathers in coral, and the organic cream knit from my stash. They really do match everything!

20150508-IMG_113920150508-IMG_113820150508-IMG_1137

Each shirt matches at least two of the hats. This one matches all three! Things like this make me happy :). Does anyone else get a thrill out of creating a bunch of pieces that all match each other or is it just me?

Yay for getting this kid some clothing sewn! On to the next baby project!

11 thoughts on “June bug layette

  1. Oh my goodness, I don’t think this could be any cuter. I love the kimono shirts especially, and your fabric choices are awesome. Adorable!

  2. Wow! What a great wardrobe! We loved the little side-snap tshirts for our babies. So much easier to put on than over the head things. Wish we’d had some in such great colors!!

Leave a Reply

