Baby track pants and onesies

20150910-IMG_2131

It was high time to sew a few new things for the baby. A couple onesies and some killer track pants to the rescue!

20150910-IMG_2134

The onesies are sewn in size 3-6 months using this pattern from Etsy in the same knits I used for my older son’s tees. I did modified the pattern slightly by adding some self drafted front pockets. Overall this pattern is straight forward and easy to follow but I would sew the neck opening smaller next time by overlapping the front and back shoulders more. Also since we use cloth diapers around here I’ll be adding some extra length to accommodate them as the length is a bit tight.

20150910-IMG_2139

The track pants are this pattern in size 3-6 months and are so stinking adorable! I used this organic french terry which I also used to make my son this pair of shorts. I can’t recommend this fabric enough! It is wonderfully soft and holds up very well to repeated washings. The pattern works great over a cloth diaper (yay!) but I did modify the pockets to be MUCH smaller otherwise you end up with the pockets all the way down to the knees! I also altered the waistband finishing by using one thick piece of elastic rather than 2 separate, and did a few rows of topstitching. The drawstring I changed to be faux rather than actually go all the way around the waist.

20150910-IMG_2145

Finished outfit on the baby!

This kid is growing like a weed. Need. Moar. Clothes.

Leave a Reply

