Baby accessories

20150525-IMG_1180

Accessories tend to make the outfit, don’t they? Even if you’re just a little baby 😉  So I decided to spend some time making a few beautiful and useful accessories to go with my baby’s layette. First up is a pair of leather shoes.

20150525-IMG_1182

I made the shoes in size 0-6 months from some beautiful leather scrap I bought off of eBay. The laces are 3/8″ cream twill tape. The pattern was this free shoe pattern which I modified by scaling it up (printed at 110%), did two lacing holes rather than three, omitted the heart cutouts, added some topstitching, and also changed the shape of the heal piece to create the look I was after on the shoe front.

20150525-IMG_1181

I love these little shoes!

20150525-IMG_1183

Next up are some reversible bandana-style drool bibs.

20150525-IMG_1187

I sewed them using this free tutorial in size 6-12 month and included the optional size adjustment snap to make them fit at a smaller size as well.

20150525-IMG_1189

The fabrics are various ones from my stash (a lot of them are Kaufman railroad chambray’s) and the snaps are size 15 metal snaps from Snapsource.

20150525-IMG_1192

Lastly I made a little reversible bucket hat from the free Oliver + s pattern available here. I made it in size XS out of Robert Kaufman Railroad Poplin and Cotton Steel Tokyo Train Ride Harajuku in color aqua. I did modify the pattern by widening the brim a little and I added a little chin strap with velcro closure.

20150525-IMG_1193

Reverse side. I just love those cute animals!

Only a few weeks left until I welcome this little baby! I wonder how much more sewing I can get done for him before he arrives.

Does anyone else enjoy the nesting energy before baby comes or do you prefer to do nothing and take it easy?

10 thoughts on “Baby accessories

  1. Gosh! You’re the best mum! Thank for including the patterns in this post. I love seeing all your creations. I’ve got number three due late October/early November. We’ve decided to keep the gender a surprise, but I think I could pull off a few unisex designs, and we’ve got loads of little nieces and nephews and more on the way for leftovers 🙂 I’ve been knitting because I’ve been really sick (as usual), but I can’t wait to get on the machine. Thanks for the inspiration!

    • Thank you so much! And congrats on #3! How fun to keep the gender a surprise. I don’t know if I have the will power to not find out… maybe I can swing it for #4 or 5 😉 Good luck with your knitting and sewing!

  2. Goodness gracious, those are the sweetest little booties! My sewing machine broke a couple months before my kiddo was born and it took some time to weigh my options for a new machine, so I sadly wasn’t able to do much of the little baby sewing I had planned. Best wishes for your new baby 🙂

Leave a comment